The future of mobility is rail

Revolution in the rail system – en route to a digital future

What the steam engine was to the industrial revolution, digitalisation is to Industry 4.0

At Digitale Schiene Deutschland (that is: Digital Rail for Germany), we are seizing this opportunity and bringing future technologies to the railway system. Artificial intelligence (AI) and autonomous driving will become the new normal on the rails.

We are laying the foundation for this with a complete modernisation and digitalisation of the infrastructure. The control and safety technology will be renewed by 2035, with the rollout of the European Train Control System (ETCS), digital interlocking systems (DSTW: Digitale Stellwerke) and the integrated control and operating system (iLBS: integrierte Leit- und Bediensystem). This was kicked off in 2020 with the so-called ‘starter package’.

In the second stage of Digitale Schiene, the digital railway system reveals its full potential. Trains that are fully automated and runin closer succession  that are controlled intelligently and automatically in real time, and that recognise their surroundings and position using sensors – this is what the future of the railway looks like. For this, a system architecture will detail the tasks of individual components of the railway system, and how they should work together. On this foundation, numerous digital technologies will then be tested and further developed for use in the system.

Why we do what we do

Digitalisation, automation and artificial intelligence (AI) are key to a higher capacity and optimal utilisation of the rail network. Our goal is clear: more attractive rail transport with more trains, of higher quality. And all without adding a single metre of new track.

In this way, we aim to reach a transport turning point: twice as many passengers on the railways and increased freight traffic by 2030. Thus, Digitale Schiene benefits both our customers and the climate. The railway will once again become a high-tech industry, with attractive jobs and innovation strength in Germany and beyond.

Faster, greener, smoother: thanks to Digitale Schiene Deutschland

The digital railway creates capacity

With Digitale Schiene Deutschland, more trains are able to operate without the need for new tracks. The cutting-edge technology of a digital railway system will increase the rail network’s capacity by up to 35% – through standardised digital control and safety technology (DLST) based on the European Train Control System (ETCS) and digital interlocking systems (DSTW: Digitale Stellwerke), combined with a new integrated control and operating system.

Reliability rises

More people and goods will reach their destinations more reliably in the future. This is made possible by standardised technical components and less ‘hardware’ that can potentially fail – for example, around 160,000 signals that will no longer be needed after the introduction of ETCS and DSTW. Remote diagnostic systems and largely automated fault handling also ensure smoother operations. The result: more reliable freight transport, more punctual passenger trains, more satisfied customers.

More efficient railway operations

Better use of resources, the ‘virtualisation’ of failure-prone hardware and optimised control of all processes make rail traffic more efficient – and reduce infrastructure maintenance. In addition, standardised, uniform technology eases the movement of goods throughout Europe.

Digitale Schiene as a driver of innovation

Digitale Schiene will bring a huge technology boost for the entire German rail industry, and beyond the country's borders. With innovative, exportable systems, Germany can open up new markets and further establish itself as a technology leader. In addition, employees benefit from digital technologies: diverse occupational fields are created, work processes are facilitated and future-oriented skills are promoted.

A good environmental balance

The train is already the most environmentally friendly means of transport available today. But it can be improved. Digitale Schiene creates the conditions for more passengers and goods on existing tracks, and less traffic on the roads. The climate also benefits from a higher capacity. New organisation of rail operations and optimal use of existing resources reduce energy requirements and harmful CO₂ emissions. According to estimates, more than ten million tonnes of CO₂ per year can be saved by the railways in 2030. Digitale Schiene Deutschland alone accounts for 1.6 million tonnes of this.

Die Zukunft der Mobilität liegt auf dem Gleis.

Revolution im Bahnsystem – unterwegs in die digitale Zukunft

Was die Dampfmaschine für die industrielle Revolution war, ist die Digitalisierung für die Industrie 4.0.

Mit der Digitalen Schiene Deutschland nutzen wir diese Chance und bringen Zukunftstechnologien in das System Bahn. Künstliche Intelligenz und automatisiertes Fahren werden zur neuen Normalität auf dem Gleis.
Die Digitale Schiene Deutschland
Das Fundament dafür legen wir mit der grundlegenden Modernisierung und Digitalisierung der Infrastruktur: Durch den Flächen-Rollout des European Train Control System (ETCS), Digitaler Stellwerke (DSTW) und des integrierten Leit- und Bediensystems (iLBS) wird die Leit- und Sicherungstechnik bis 2035 grundlegend erneuert. Der „Startschuss“ dafür wurde 2020 mit dem sogenannten „Starterpaket“ gegeben.

Mit der zweiten Stufe der Digitalen Schiene entfaltet das digitale Bahnsystem sein volles Potenzial: Züge, die voll automatisiert und in kürzeren Abständen fahren, die in Echtzeit intelligent und automatisiert gesteuert werden, die ihre Umwelt und ihre Position durch Sensorik erkennen – so sieht die Zukunft der Eisenbahn aus. In einer Systemarchitektur wird dafür detailliert, was einzelne Komponenten des Bahnsystems leisten müssen und wie sie zusammenarbeiten sollen. Auf dieser Grundlage werden dann zahlreiche digitale Technologien erprobt und für den Einsatz im System Bahn weiterentwickelt.

Warum wir tun, was wir tun

Digitalisierung, Automatisierung und künstliche Intelligenz sind der Schlüssel für eine höhere Kapazität und eine optimale Auslastung des Schienennetzes. Unser Ziel dabei ist klar: Einen attraktiveren Bahnverkehr mit mehr Zügen in einer höheren Qualität. Und das ohne einen Meter zusätzlicher Gleise. 
Damit schaffen wir die Verkehrswende: doppelt so viele Reisende auf der Schiene und mehr Güterverkehr bis 2030. So nutzt die Digitale Schiene unseren Kunden und dem Klima. Die Eisenbahn wird wieder zur Hochtechnologiebranche, mit attraktiven Arbeitsplätzen und Innovationskraft über Deutschland hinaus.

Schneller, grüner, reibungsloser – das bringt die Digitale Schiene Deutschland:

Die Digitale Schiene schafft Kapazität

Mit der Digitalen Schiene Deutschland sind mehr Züge unterwegs, ohne dass dafür neue Gleise gebaut werden: Eine einheitliche digitale Leit- und Sicherungstechnik (DLST) auf Basis von ETCS und DSTW in Verbindung mit einem neuen integrierten Leit- und Bediensystem (iLBS) und den Zukunftstechnologien des digitalen Bahnsystems bringt bis zu 35% mehr Kapazität ins Schienennetz.

Die Zuverlässigkeit steigt

Mehr Menschen und Güter erreichen künftig zuverlässiger ihr Ziel. Möglich wird das durch standardisierte technische Komponenten und weniger „Hardware“, die ausfallen kann – wie die rund 160.000 Signale, die nach der Einführung von ETCS und DSTW nicht mehr gebraucht werden. Aber auch digitale Ferndiagnosesysteme und eine weitgehend automatisierte Bearbeitung von Störungen sorgen für einen reibungsloseren Ablauf. Das Ergebnis: zuverlässigerer Gütertransport, pünktlichere Personenzüge, zufriedenere Kunden.

Höhere Effizienz im Bahnbetrieb

Die bessere Auslastung der Ressourcen, die „Virtualisierung“ störanfälliger Hardware und die optimierte Steuerung aller Abläufe machen den Bahnverkehr effizienter – und verringern den Wartungsaufwand für die Infrastruktur. Darüber hinaus erleichtert eine einheitliche, standardisierte Technik den Warenverkehr in ganz Europa.

Die Digitale Schiene als Innovationstreiber

Die Digitale Schiene bringt einen gewaltigen Technologieschub für die gesamte deutsche Bahnbranche, aber auch über die Landesgrenzen hinaus. Mit innovativen, exportfähigen Systemen kann Deutschland neue Märkte erschließen und sich weiter als Technologieführer etablieren. Außerdem profitieren auch Arbeitnehmer von den digitalen Technologien: vielfältige Berufsfelder entstehen, Arbeitsprozesse werden erleichtert und zukunftsfähige Kompetenzen gefördert.

Eine gute Umweltbilanz

Schon heute ist der Zug eines der umweltfreundlichsten Verkehrsmitteln. Aber es geht noch besser: Die Digitale Schiene schafft die Voraussetzungen für mehr Personen und Güter auf bestehenden Gleisen und weniger Verkehr auf den Straßen. Von der höheren Kapazität profitiert auch die Klimaschutzbilanz. Eine neue Organisation des Bahnbetriebs und die optimale Ausnutzung der bestehenden Ressourcen senken den Energiebedarf und schädliche CO₂-Emissionen – mehr als zehn Millionen Tonnen CO₂ jährlich kann die Eisenbahn laut Schätzungen im Jahr 2030 einsparen. Dabei entfallen allein 1,6 Millionen Tonnen auf die Maßnahmen der Digitalen Schiene Deutschland.